December Calendar

Back to November

Visit www.tomiesblog.blogspot.com

Monday, December 1 ^ TOP

www.tomie.com
See Bryce’s illustration for the Splash Page.

Artists who want their illustrations considered for the
Splash Page should submit them to the address that
follows. Use “Tomie.com” in the illustration as Bryce
did. Make sure that you tell us your age and hometown.

Splash Page Illustration
Bob Hechtel
111 County Road
New London, NH 03257

Twentieth Anniversary of World AIDS Day

Phony Smile Day

Tuesday, December 2 ^ TOP

Have-a-Heart Day

Wednesday, December 3 ^ TOP

Doctor’s appointment

Let’s Hug Day

Rockefeller Center Tree Lighting Ceremony

Thursday, December 4 ^ TOP

Wear Brown Shoes Day

Friday, December 5 ^ TOP

Throw bills in trash can!
(Just kidding. Pay bills!)

Martin Van Buren was born on this day.
He was the 8th U.S. President.

Walt Disney was born on this day.

Put up the big Christmas wreath, the smaller wreathes
and the eight kissing balls.

Light outside trees and all of the electric candles
for the first time this holiday season.

Bath Tub Party Day

Saturday, December 6 ^ TOP

Feast of St. Nicholas

Mitten Tree Day

Sunday, December 7 ^ TOP

Second Sunday of Advent
Light two candles on my Advent Wreath.

Anniversary of Pearl Harbor Attack

John’s birthday (a friend in Florida)

Monday, December 8 ^ TOP

Bad Hair Day

Tuesday, December 9 ^ TOP

Get car serviced for winter.

Pastry Day

Wednesday, December 10 ^ TOP

Concetta dePaola (my Italian grandmother) was born on this day.

Human Rights Day

Thursday, December 11 ^ TOP

Dana’s birthday (a friend in New Hampshire)

Hi Neighbor Day

Friday, December 12 ^ TOP

Anne’s birthday (a friend in New York)

Barbara’s birthday (one of my former editors)

Pay bills.

Feast of Our Lady of Guadalupe
(I wrote and illustrated the book THE LADY OF GUADALUPE.)

Ding-a-ling Day

Saturday, December 13 ^ TOP

Martha’s birthday (a friend in Idaho)

Kim’s birthday (a friend in Colorado)

Mary Todd Lincoln was born on this day.
Her husband, Abraham Lincoln, was the 16th U.S. President.

Feast of St. Lucia

Sunday, December 14 ^ TOP

Third Sunday of Advent
Light three candles on my Advent Wreath.

Narrate the “Nutcracker and the Mouse King”
for the Nashua Symphony Orchestra:
Holiday Pops Cabaret
Crown Plaza Nashua
Nashua, NH 03063
www.nashuasymphony.org

Harvey’s birthday (a friend in Delaware)

Monday, December 15 ^ TOP

Put up the BIG tree and decorate it.

Tuesday, December 16 ^ TOP

Put up the smaller tree and decorate it.

Bob’s birthday (a friend in Minnesota)

Las Posadas is a nine-day celebration beginning on
December 16 and ending on December 24.
(I wrote and illustrated the book THE NIGHT OF LAS POSADAS.)

Chocolate-covered Anything Day

Wednesday, December 17 ^ TOP

Doctor’s appointment

Heather’s birthday (my bookkeeper)

Cookie Cutter Day

Thursday, December 18 ^ TOP

Harold’s birthday (a friend in Minnesota)

Find a Friend, Be a Friend Day

Friday, December 19 ^ TOP

Pay bills.

Wrap presents and put them under the tree.

Chocolate Pizza Day
(Sounds awful!)

Saturday, December 20 ^ TOP

Book Signing at
BARNES & NOBLE
2:00 – 3:30 p.m.
235 Daniel Webster Highway
(corner of Spitbrook Road and Daniel Webster Highway)
Nashua, NH 03060
603-888-0533
www.bn.com

Sunday, December 21 ^ TOP

Book Signing at
MARKLIN CANDLE DESIGN
2:00 – 3:00 p.m.
28 Riverside Drive
Contoocook, NH 03229
603-746-2211
www.marklincandle.com

Fourth Sunday of Advent
Light four candles on my Advent Wreath.

Hanukkah begins at sundown and ends at nightfall
on December 29. Tonight I’ll light the first candle
in the Menorah given to me by Bev and Dan. I’ll
light the last candle at night on December 28.

First Day of Winter – Winter Solstice
This is the shortest day of the year and the longest night of the year.
(It won’t be long before the rubber duckies and I play in my pool!)

Cathy’s birthday (a friend in South Carolina)

Look at the Bright Side Day

Monday, December 22 ^ TOP

First Day of Hanukkah

The Aussies visit!
(No, NOT Nicole Kidman and Hugh Jackman,
but Fraser, Jenny and Tony!)

Doctor’s appointment

Lady Bird Johnson was born on this day.
Her husband, Lyndon Johnson, was the 36th U.S. President.

Tuesday, December 23 ^ TOP

Popcorn Popping Day

Wednesday, December 24 ^ TOP

Christmas Eve

Sneek-a-Peek Day

Egg Nog Day

Thursday, December 25 ^ TOP

Christmas Day – Merry Christmas!

Friday, December 26 ^ TOP

Boxing Day in Canada and Great Britain
(In this corner… Jennette! In the other corner… Stephanie!)

First Day of Kwanzaa

In the Middle Ages, this was the Day of the Friendly Beasts.
(I illustrated THE FRIENDLY BEASTS: AN OLD ENGLISH
CHRISTMAS CAROL.)

My annual After-Christmas Party.

Whiners Day

Saturday, December 27 ^ TOP

Aussies leave.

Fruitcake Day

Sunday, December 28 ^ TOP

Woodrow Wilson was born on this day.
He was the 28th U.S. President.

Monday, December 29 ^ TOP

Andrew Johnson was born on this day.
He was the 17th U.S. President.

Tuesday, December 30 ^ TOP

Festival of Changes at the Last Minute

Wednesday, December 31 ^ TOP

Doctor’s appointment

Mary Jo comes to visit as she does every New Year’s Eve.

Margery’s birthday (a former editor)

New Year’s Eve

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 
 
All content and images copyright © Tomie dePaola. All rights reserved